About the City

Updated by : Admin / Date updated : Aug. 30, 2019

Cadiz City is located at the northern tip of Negros Occidental, 65 kilometers away from Bacolod City which is the capital City of the Province of Negros Occidental. It is bounded on the north by the Visayan Sea, on the east by the City of Sagay, on the west by the Municipality of Manapla, on the southwest by the City of Victorias and on the south by the City of Silay. Cadiz City is located within the geographical coordinates of 10?50’ latitude Northeast and 123?09’ to 123?10’ longitude East.

The city has a land area of 516.50 square kilometers as per data of the DENR and DBM. It has 22 barangays, 10 of which are in the poblacion and 12 are outside the city proper. The city has a wide range of plain that serves as its economic and urban centers. It extends three to five kilometers from its coastline up to agricultural zone of the city. Its slopes vary up to a maximum of 3%. The predominant terrain of the city is rolling which is suitable for agricultural farming. The maximum elevation of the city reaches over 1000 meters and is situated in the Marapara Range.

Six rural Barangays of the city have forested areas which form part of the Northern Negros Reserve and later on declared as National Park. These six barangays are Caduha-an, Mabini, Magsaysay, V.F. Gustilo and C.S. Villacin. The forest land comprises 16.84% of the total area of the city.

The soil classification of the city is clay loam. Its climate is Type “A” using the system introduced by Pedro P. Hernandez of the Philippine Atmospheric, Geographical and Astronomical Services Association (PAGASA) where in the analysis of the climate is based on the ratio of the number of dry and wet months. Type “A” is the wettest climate classification among the eight (8) types.

The city has seventeen (17) major rivers, namely: Sicaba, Talaba-an Daku, Talaba-an Diotay Tinampa-an, Hitalon, Lagasan, Manara, Dinaldangan, Hamticon, Hiyang-hiyang, Pacul, Sewahon, Iglanggam, Piyok, San Antonio, Nabinay and Dalayapan. Three (3) major rivers traverse the Urban Area, these are Hitalon, Tinampa-an and Talaba-an Diotay.